YOU CANNOT FIND PEACE BY AVOIDING LIFE

A quote by one of the greatest English writers of the 20th century, Virginia Woolf. I am currently reading her book; A Room of One’s Own, which is an essay based on her lecture held at Griton College, Cambridge in 1928.

The essay is about ‘women in fiction’, female creativity, and it can be considered as one of the greatest feminist books of our time. Why do different opportunities for men and women exist when it comes to education? Or why are there books about women written by men? These are just a fraction of the issues that Woolf covers in her essay.

DSC_0034 (2)

In the light of the International Women’s Day last week, coupled with the inspiration from Woolf’s essay, I wanted to write a little something about being a woman. I consider myself a feminist. What I really want is equality between women and men. I have some amazing men in my life, who have always supported me and who respect women. I want all men in the world to be like they are, I want women and men to be equal.

There are a lot of issues concerning women that are close to my heart. I want to use my voice to fix problems that women around the world have to face everyday. I want to embrace femininity, speak my mind and not be afraid to do so, be independent…

DSC_0049 (2)

As the world today faces great turmoil and with a very uncertain future present, it is important for us to stay united and reject hatred and build a resistance towards any kind of sexism. There is a facist and sexist man as the president of the most influential country in the world with a plethora of violent acts against women that is a rampant problem in every corner of the world. Millions of girls still don’t have access to education or contraception, female genital mutilation still exists in many countries, and each year 15 million girls are forced to get married before the age of 18. Just to mention few problems that the world embodies against women.

These are the soul’s changes. I don’t believe in ageing. I believe in forever altering one’s aspect to the sun. Hence my optimism.

-Virginia Woolf

DSC_0069 (2)

I realise that I’m very lucky. Not every girl has supportive men in their lives and this is the reason why so many women despise men. And I don’t blame them. I’ve had a fair share of nasty encounters with boys too.

The real problem is with our society, which is changing very slowly. Breastfeeding is still banned in most places, there is STILL stigma around periods and women STILL earn less than men in most professions. SO, the society needs to chill and realise that women are as good as men. Us women (and you men as well) need to use our voice for that matter, so that one day we can all be equal.

DSC_0051 (2)

Leather jacket and jeans Zara     Top Next     Boots H&M     Bag Stella McCartney

Photos: Charline Chatteeuw

The beauty of the world, Which is so soon to perish, has two edges, one of laughter, one of anguish, cutting the heart asunder.

-Virginia Woolf

DONATE AND GET INVOLVED:

UN WOMEN

HE FOR SHE

MALALA FUND

AMNESTY

UNiTE

EMPOWER WOMEN

iKNOW POLITICS

GIRLS NOT BRIDES

 

Leave a Reply

