IF YOU ENDORSE SOMETHING, PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT ENDORSEMENT

Alexandra Shulman, the editor-in-chief of British Vogue, talking about power that she has as an editor, and how the legendary fashion magazine influences people, in an interview with Financial Times in 2012.

She is the longest serving editor-in-chief of the British Vogue’s history, arriving at the Vogue House in 1992. After over 25 years in post, she announced her resignation at the beginning of this year, saying that she “wanted to experience a different life and look forward to a future separate to Vogue“.


On Thursday this week I attended “An Evening with Alexandra Shulman” at St Peter’s church in Notting Hill, where an award winning journalist and previous editor of The Independent On Sunday, Lisa Markwell interviewed her about the book, or diary of Vogue’s centenary year Inside Vogue: A Diary of My 100th Year, she published last year.

She told that she has kept a diary on and off her whole life. When she was younger it said “Don’t read” on the cover so that her mum wouldn’t read it. But when she got older and started her career the diaries were about “a mother with a young child on Vogue”, referring to her son Samuel.

IMG_9608

After I got starstruck in front of Shulman, when she signed my copy of the book, I went home and found a diary I had started to write last year. It was interesting to read, especially since I had written it in Finnish and I would laugh at my grammar mistakes like “what the hell did I mean by that?”. I realised how important it is to have those memories for later life, because there were many things that I had already entirely forgotten.


Through a diary you can feel how you felt six months ago, when you went through a heartbreak or when you succeeded in something, and you were really proud of yourself. Reading your diary can make you analyse your life, how have you progressed with achieving your dreams, and notice small things that haven’t changed in your life since you wrote about it.


I am going through a patch in my life where many things are uncertain. Sometimes it scares me to think about my future after I leave university. I have dreams and goals I want to reach, but because life is so complicated and spontaneous, I will never know how fast I will get there.


In a way it’s a good feeling not to know what’s gonna happen to you, it keeps you on your toes and pushes you to work harder. But at the same time, some things I would just want to be bright and clear already. Only time will tell. Meanwhile I will restart writing my diary, a secure place to pour my heart out.

Leather jacket, shirt and jeans Zara     Shoes Aldo     Bag Balenciaga

HAVE AN AMAZING NEW WEEK! S x

Leave a Reply

