THE EDIT: LOUIS VUITTON CRUISE 2018

Japan has always been one of those places I’ve wanted to visit so badly. My brother might have influenced me when I was a kid, when he showed me Hayao Miyazaki’s films like Spirited Away and My Neighbour Totoro. He has also visited Japan numerous times and shared his photos with me, which has just made me want to travel to the country even more.

In 2011, me and my mum were finally planning on going to Kyoto and Tokyo to meet my brother, who was over there doing an internship at the time. It was about a week before we were going to leave, when a 9.0 magnitude earthquake hit the Japanese coast. We had to cancel our trip because we didn’t know what the conditions were, or whether there was going to be any aftershocks when we would’ve got there.

A closer look at the #LVCruise 2018 Collection by @nicolasghesquiere. Watch the show now at louisvuitton.com.

A post shared by Louis Vuitton Official (@louisvuitton) on

Since then, both me and my mum have been dreaming of going to Japan again, but both of us have been too busy to do so. Next week she is finally making her dream come true when she is traveling to Tokyo, and I couldn’t be more jealous (also happy for her). I will follow in her footsteps soon, I promise!

#louisvuitton #lvcruise2018 ✨

A post shared by Fifth Avenue Italia (@fifthavenueitalia) on

Watching the Louis Vuitton Cruise 2018 show on Sunday did not help my travel bug either. The collection, a collaboration with Japanese designer Kansaï Yamamoto, was full of references to Japan’s culture and fashion. The creative director of Louis Vuitton, Nicolas Ghesquière, had took an audacious approach in the designing process of the new resort collection; sequin t-shirt dresses, colourful, bold prints and Kabuki-eyed monogram bags were conquering the runway – all which you will spot in the streets of London fairly soon for sure.

The runway show itself, was something really spectacular. The luxury brand’s resort runway shows have been held in another spectacular spots in the past years, such as Rio’s Niterói Museum and Bob Hope’s John Lautner-designed home in Palm Springs, but this was something completely different. Set in the Miho Museum, about an hour’s drive east of Kyoto, overlooking the Shigaraki mountains, models entered through a metal tunnel and walked across a suspension bridge into the museum, showcasing the creations of Ghesquière.

#LVCruise Finale. Watch the show by @nicolasghesquiere now at louisvuitton.com

A post shared by Louis Vuitton Official (@louisvuitton) on

The museum, designed by a Chinese-American architect I.M. Pei, showcases the antiquities collection (over 1,000 items) of Mihoko Koyama, founder of the religious organization Shinji Shumeikai and one of the richest women in Japan. In 1990 she commissioned the museum to be built close to the Shumei temple in the Shiga mountains, which now was the location of Louis Vuitton’s globe-trotting cruise collection.

I’m excited to see what Ghesquière has on his sleeve in the years to follow, and I’m hoping to make my way to Japan asap! S x

See the full collection HERE. Cover photo from WWD.


P.S. If you want to experience a piece of Japan in London, head to Barbican Centre. The Japanese House: Architecture and Life after 1945 makes you want to move to the country – their architecture is on the next level. Running until 25 June.
P.P.S. Or read Kakuzo Okakura’s The Book of Tea, the 1906 guide to the Japanese tea ceremony and critique of the West’s view of Japan OR Kenkō’s A Cup of Sake Beneath the Cherry Trees, a medieval Japanese monk’s reflections on life.
Leave a Reply

